August 12 — August 22, 2020

Exquisite Corpse



Click here to schedule an appointment to visit on either of the opening days,

Friday, 01/08
Saturday, 01/09

Conduit Gallery is honored to present Exquisite Corpse, a collaborative group exhibition fundraiser with an online preview, August 12th, 2020 and a physical exhibition in the gallery available to view in person by appointment August 15th through August 22nd, 2020.

Thirty-three Conduit Gallery artists participated in the drawing game Exquisite Corpse, made famous by Surrealist artists of the early 20th century. In the Exquisite Corpse, also known as Cadavre Exquis, participants play by taking turns drawing sections of a body on a sheet of paper, folded to hide each individual contribution. The first player adds a head—then, without knowing what that head looks like, the next artist adds a torso, and so on. In this way, a strange, comical, often grotesque creature is born. Artists were grouped into three participants per drawing and collaborated to complete one drawing each for a total of 41 artworks that will be exhibited on the Conduit Gallery website and in the gallery, as well as sold as a fundraiser, with 100 percent of sales divided equally between Dallas based artist support fund, E.A.S.L and the Black Voters Matter Fund.

In addition to the thirty-three Conduit artists participating, each artist invited two artists of their choosing to create additional works. Those collaborations include: James Sullivan inviting Ryan Goolsby and Frances Bagley; Heyd Fontenot inviting Brian Scott and Erin Stafford; Susie Phillips inviting Dan Phillips and Jackie Dunn Smith; Annabel Daou inviting Nadia Ayari and Sarah Anderson; W. Tucker inviting Shawn Smith and Beili Liu; Ted Larsen inviting Ben Dallas and Amy Ellingson and Susan Barnett inviting Mary Vernon and Michael O'Keefe, among others.

Exquisite Corpse Artist List

Sarah Anderson, Nadia Ayari, Frances Bagley, David Baker, Jeff Baker, Barsamian, Ben Berres, Dennis Boatright, Rosalyn Bodycomb, Susan Barnett, Matthew Bourbon, Denise Brown, Deborah Rael-Buckley, Janet Chaffee, Sue Chenoweth, Ben Dallas, Annabel Daou, Grayson Darwin, Amy Ellingston, Spencer Evans, Martha Falsetta, Vincent Falsetta, Enrique Figueredo, J.C. Fontanive, Heyd Fontenot, Bill Frazier, David French, Elizabeth Glaessner, Jeff Gibbons, Ryan Goolsby, Charles Gray, Susan kae Grant, Meg Griffiths, Joshua Hagler, Billy Hassell, Stephanie Hinson, Catherine Howe, John Howington, Benito Huerta, Lauren Anaïs Hussey, Angela Kallus, Robert Jessup, Faith Scott Jessup, Jules Buck Jones, Stephen Lapthisophon, Ted Larsen, Lance Letscher, Bonny Leibowitz, Kelley-Ann Lindo, Beili Liu, Drew Liverman, Phyllis McGibbon, Juliette Majot, Carrie Marill, Michael Mazurek, Reagan Mazurek, Sammy Maddela, Shelby David Meier, Margaret Meehan, C. Meng, Jeanine Michna-Bales, Steven Miller, Jesse Alexandra Moncrief, Roberto Munguia, Celia Álvarez Muñoz, Michael O’Keefe, Fahamu Pecou, Susie Phillips, Dan Phillips, Melba Price, Justin Quinn, Shannon Rankin, Matt Rebholz, Anna Rosen, Gregory Ruppe, Maja Ruznic, Joshua Saunders, Ludwig Schwarz, Brian Scott, Jackie Dunn Smith, Shawn Smith, Anthony Sonnenberg, James Sullivan, Bruce Tapola, Beth Thielen, W. Tucker, Mary Vernon, Matthew Whitenack, Byrd Williams, Mark Wilson, Susan Whitmer, Reinhard Ziegler

About EASL:

The Emergency Artists’ Support League was founded in 1992 to offer monetary grants to North Texas visual artists and arts professionals in need. Grants are distributed for a medical crisis, studio damage or other emergencies. Grant applications are reviewed and approved by the 100% volunteer Board of Directors. All funds are distributed confidentially, as EASL strives to maintain the artists' anonymity and dignity.

The Dallas Foundation (TDF) is the fiscal sponsor of the EASL Fund, a component fund of The Dallas Foundation, a 501(c)(3) publicly supported charity, Federal Tax ID 2890371. Donations to the EASL fund can be made through the EASL website or via TDF’s website. All donations to the EASL fund are tax deductible to the extent permitted by applicable law.

About the Black Voters Matter Fund:

The goal of the Black Voters Matter Fund is to increase power in communities by boosting black voter turnout in elections at every level. Effective voting allows a community to determine its own destiny. “We advocate for policies to expand voting rights/access, including expanded early voting, resisting voter ID, re-entry restoration of rights and strengthening the Voting Rights Act. We also advocate for policies that intersect with race, gender, economic and other aspects of equity.”

Artists in this Exhibition

Artist Video